State Seal provided by
Ethics Commission
Promoting Integrity in Mississippi's State and Local Governments

Tom Hood, Executive Director

Home Opinion Search Site Map Contact Us Site Search  Go

Advisory Opinions
Ethics Laws
Open Meetings Act
Public Records Act
Statement of Economic Interest
Campaign Finance
Ethics Complaints
Opinion Process
Procedural Rules
The Commission
The Staff
Seminar Presentations
Records and Statistics
Government Links


Today is: Friday, August 17, 2018

The Commission

Composition and Term
The Mississippi Ethics Commission was established November 15, 1979. The Commission is composed of eight members who were appointed to serve four year terms. All terms are staggered so that two terms expire each year. Also, any member may be reappointed.

Method of Selection
Two members of the Commission are appointed by each of the following authorities: Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

Commission Members
Name City App'ted By Term Expires
Ben Stone, Chairman Gulfport Lt. Governor 11/14/21
Donnell Berry Jackson Governor 11/14/19
Derek R. Arrington Hattiesburg Lt. Governor 11/14/18
Sean A. Milner Clinton Speaker 11/14/21
Dana S. Stringer, Secretary Brandon Governor 11/14/20
Ron E. Crowe Brandon Speaker 11/14/18
Paul V. Breazeale, Vice Chairman Jackson Chief Justice 11/14/20
Brenda T. Redfern Richland Chief Justice 11/14/19

Each member appointed to the Commission must be a qualified elector of the State of Mississippi of good moral character and integrity. Not more than one person appointed by each appointing authority shall be an elected official.

The responsibility of the Commission is to see that the legislative purpose is satisfied by exercising all duties and powers contained in the Commission's enabling legislation. The Commission's purpose is accomplished by three subprograms:
  • Provides forms for the filing of Statements of Economic Interest (financial disclosure) by public officials and candidates and makes the completed forms available for public inspection upon request;
  • Receives sworn complaints and subsequently investigates alleged violations of the law by public servants; and
  • Issues written advisory opinions to public servants with regard to any standards of conduct set forth in the conflict of interest laws.

The Commission employs a full-time staff supervised by Executive Director, Tom Hood, who serves at the Commission's will and pleasure. All Commission employees are classified as non-state service.

Office Location
660 North Street
Suite 100-C
Jackson, MS 39202
Postal Mailing
P.O. Box 22746
Jackson, MS 39225-2746

Telephone and Facsimile Numbers
Telephone: (601) 359-1285     Facsimile: (601) 359-1292

Get Acrobat Reader